The Vow: Ay abaw!

These are my opinions and observations with regards to the movie The Vow starring one of my favorite Hollywood Star Rachel McAdams and Channing Tatum.

Okay, so the story goes this way.

There’s this couple madly in love with each other who got into an accident and unfortunately the girl lost her memory. Not all. But she can only remember things before she met her husband. Sounds familiar eh? (Refer to the movie of Marian and Dingdong- One true love)

The boy tried to help the girl regain her memory but she was afraid to remember for the reason that “what if I don’t like it, or what if I liked it very much?” And so the girl decided to escape the process by going home to her family which before the accident she never even talked to.

They went to a divorce, however at the end of the story they started to go out again. And what happened in real life is that they eventually have each other again and have two kids. It was not really specified if the girl’s memories got back.

That’s it. So what I can say is that, OOOOKAAAY.

I am not a media expert nor knowledgeable about technical aspects of that movie but my comments are based on my own take about what I saw.

It never really touched me because of the fact that as a movie, it’s sort of the same as any other amnesia movies like The Notebook and A Moment to Remember. What’s funny is that Rachel McAdams was also the star in The Notebook.However, what sets it different is that it was based on a true story

I can’t say that I don’t like it, but I can’t either say I like it. It was so simple, it never made me cry a bit. Actually, I was jut curious to watch it coz a lot of people said it’s so sad and heart-warming and blah, blah, blah but I never felt what they felt.

Am I numb?

I don’t know.

Maybe I was not in the mood to be sad or I was just sleepy.

I don’t know.

But my point here is, it was so simple and cliche that you might not want to spend your money watching it in the theater. I was lucky enough to have a soft copy of it. It’s worth what? Php120.00? My gosh! Not worth it. I would rather spend it to watch Corazon this Friday. I even wonder why it hit number 1 in US, maybe because it was Rachel and Channing, not because of the plot.

On the positive side, what I liked was their vows to each other. You know, in my wildest dreams, I wish that I would get married in my favorite place saying things to someone i love straight from my heart and not just the common Til-Death-Do-Us-Part-Vow. Actually, I told my special someone that if ever we got married, I want him to write what he really felt for me. But he said, “Indi ko na ya kabalo ah. Wala ko da talent.” And so, I just put on a sad face and said “K. Fine.”

I vow to help you love life, to always hold you with tenderness and to have the patience that love demands, to speak when words are needed and to share the silence when they are not and to live within the warmth of your heart and always call it home.

-Paige
I vow to fiercely love you in all your forms, now and forever. I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love.I vow to love you, and no matter what challenges might carry us apart, we will always find a way back to each other.

-Leo

Sweet, right?

That’s the only thing I love about The Vow. And the rest? AY ABAW!

The Vow Poster.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. nuelene says:

    Rachel McAdams’ role makes me cry always. The Notebook and The Time Traveler’s Wife.
    I want to watch it!

  2. Jorge Parker says:

    Haha. Watch it te, kay basi positive pa imo panglantaw. Anyway, hambal gani kuno sang iban nga critics, kung indi tungod sa galing ni Rachel mag-act, daw wala lang ang movie.

Leave a Reply

