i hate December

I don’t know why, but I can’t remember loving it. I hate how people cherish this time of year like it’s the end of the world. I sometimes wished that what ought to happen last December 21, 2012, happened. I hate how they call it the season of joy and fun. How come people who invented this time of year assumed everybody is happy? They didn’t have a competent statistician. For me, it’s not something special. December is just another month and after all the parties, life goes on. I don’t want to get used to the idea that we need to forget about the problems of life and enjoy Christmas, even New Year, and then when it’s over, we think that we have a fucked up world. Of course we have a fucked up world. We don’t have to sugarcoat that by engaging in things that can cause temporary amnesia. What we need is to change the world and don’t let tradition swallow us alive until we are dead.

I don’t know. Maybe, I’m just bitter because I never had a happy December memory. The holiday is coming soon and I still don’t know where to go. Maybe, I will appreciate it someday. Maybe. Until then, I hate December.

Leave a Reply

