Being “fit”

One of the reasons why I want to be fit is the fact that I am not getting any younger. Even though I am only 21 years old, I am already feeling some changes not only physically but also psychologically. Another reason is that I am really financially challenged. My pants are slowly getting tight. I think you already know what that means. I really can’t afford to buy another pair or pairs for that matter.

That is why, if I can, I go to the Iloilo Sports Complex in the afternoon – after office hours. I spend rounds of running and after that I attend the Zumba or Kickboxing session. I usually spend exactly 7 rounds of run which is equal to about 3 kilometers and 3 rounds of walk which is equal to about 1.5 kilometers. Sometimes when I really can’t handle it, I make sure I run at least 5 rounds and if I’m on the mood, I run 10 to 15 rounds. These are staggered, however. I make sure that I get 1 round walk every 5 consecutive rounds. I actually signed up for a 5k run to be held this coming May 24. I originally planned to join 10k but I am still a chicken. I think that I maybe the last person to finish it so I decided to do it slowly. On May 8, 2014, I finished the 3k Purple Run and way back in college, I finished the 5K run sponsored by the Debate Society. I am just a starter and I am not really into winning, my goal is only to finish it.

March 8 - Purple Run. I grabbed this from someone on FB.
March 8 – Purple Run. I grabbed this from someone on FB.

Anyway, so much for running. Let me discuss my Zumba and Kickboxing session. Well, it was fine. I am quite used to it already. Sometimes, I want to skip it and run for the rest of the night, but the music is so inviting that I always end up attending it. I’ve read a blog that the best Zumba in Iloilo is in Plazuela, but it’s out-of-way from my place so I settled at Iloilo Sports Complex. It’s not so bad, in fairness, it was fun. I like the Monday and Wednesday instructor a lot because his routines are just the way I want it to be. The kickboxing is a little bit awkward for me while the ballroom parts are just sexy but I can’t execute them well.

I grabbed this picture from Zumba with Rudi Yap
I grabbed this picture from Zumba with Rudi Yap
I grabbed this picture from Zumba with Rudi Yap
I grabbed this picture from Zumba with Rudi Yap

At the end of the day, I just love being active. I miss playing Tennis. I miss playing Badminton. I miss playing Ping-Pong. I miss sports. Right now, I also want to engage in biking, but well, as I have said, I am financially challenged, so the bike is non-existent. This is another phase of my life and I am starting to love running. I hope that I could stay “fit” for as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

