Kabankalan Escapade

The trip to Kabankalan last May 16, 2014 was one of another “impulse-travel”. It was one of the unplanned trips that was pushed through no matter what. It was even raining the night we sailed to Bacolod City and the day before, there was an earthquake with the epicenter being Hinobaan – three municipalities away from Kabankalan. I got out of work at 5:15 in the afternoon, I’ve met ate Julie to give her the key to my boarding house here in the City (yes Clyde, you got it), I then went to Tagbak Terminal to meet the angry Clyde. It took him about an hour to wait for me. (We’re even now)

We arrived at Dumangas RoRo Port exactly 15 minutes before the 8 PM Trip was set to sail. We then arrived in Bacolod City around 10 PM, went directly to the South Terminal, and board the second to the last Ceres bus to Kabankalan. After almost 2 hours, we finally arrived at our destination.

10339721_10203853910329591_613744636183076005_n
posing under the moon on my way to Bacolod

Early the next morning, we took another ride to Mag-aso Falls. We boarded a jeepney to Mabinay, Negros Oriental but we got off at Oringao, Kabankalan City. It was a fun ride and we discussed some bizarre facts of life. When we arrived, we took photos, undressed, put on our swimming apparels, and splashed ourselves into the waters. Mag-aso Falls looks great, not only that, the water also feels great. It was a little bit cold, though. There were so many people that day. Fortunately, only a few swam in the falls. Many settled for the swimming pools located on the upper part of the place.

me in Mag-aso Falls
me in Mag-aso Falls

I don’t know how to swim so I just sat there somewhere and from time to time, get my hair wet by putting my head under water. We eventually got tired of swimming and ate ice cream afterwards. We decided to go home around lunch time. We went directly to Gaisano and to my surprise, I saw my favorite place in the world – Booksale. I bought three books by Alexander McCall Smith – completing his series about a detective agency (or not coz I discovered there were two additional installments). I also wanted to buy other books like Enduring Love by Ian McEwan, The Lovely Bones by Alice Siebold, and Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, but I didn’t have enough money.

Me in Booksale
Me in Booksale

We had dinner at Chicken Ati-Ati and we strolled around the plaza until 10 PM. We went home – Bea’s Place – and I immediately dozed off. I was exhausted. We woke up early in the morning and I arrived back in Iloilo around 2 PM.

The whole trip was a usual ride but it was fun. You want to know why? Because I was with my friends. Everything is better with them, even simple boring escapades. I am hoping for more unplanned travels soon!

Everything is better with friends!
Everything is better with friends!
2 Comments Add yours

  1. MOre and more places are being discovered nowadays. Nice trip!

    1. Jordana Mari says:

      There are so many wonderful places in the Philippines that are yet to be discovered and I think we should keep it that way in order to preserve these wonders of nature. A lot of mainstream places are slowly degrading and it’s not yet late to save some. Thanks for leaving a comment. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

