Of finally meeting Manix Abrera

Last year, or last December 2012, I was very disappointed when the first Comic Convention was held here in Iloilo. It was because I had no idea. I almost cried when I saw my friend posting his photo on Facebook with Manix Abrera. I should have been there too, you know. I have all these comic books waiting to be signed by Manix. I should have a photo taken beside him too. Oh my gosh, I was meant to be there. But no, I was only meant to miss that and cry my heart out. That’s why I’ve been very desperate to wait for the next Comic Con. When I remember it, I search for schedules only to see that most of it are held in Manila. I’ve waited and I’ve waited. Not untilΒ a week ago when I passed by CPU and I saw a large publicity for the second Comic Con. I read the contents and again, I was disappointed that Manix will not be there. I almost lost hope but one day, I randomly searched on Facebook the site of the second Comic Con. To my surprise, I saw that Manix would be there. I prepared my book, I chose the first of the Kikomachone Komix, and I bought two tickets. I was planning to invite any willing friend, finally, Marife accompanied me, she also had the first Kikomachine book.

 

Surreal talaga
Surreal talaga

Last Friday, May 30, 2014, I got out of work at around 4 PM, I was really excited. Actually, when one of my friends posted a picture of Manix’s drawing at 1PM, I was really itching to ditch work, but it was pay-day so I need to have my money first. It was only fortunate that I was let go at 4PM. I travelled almost 30 minutes because of the traffic, but when I finally got there, it was all worth it. First, I listened to the last part of Carlo Pagulayan’s interview and then looked around for Manix. When I finally caught a glimpse of him, I immediately took my book out of my bag and had him sign it. I was really happy. I don’t know, happy is an understatement after finally having a check off my bucket list. I am ELATED. I had a photo with him beside me or with me beside him. I will have my other books signed next time. Salamat po, Idol!

Thank you Idol, Asteeg!
Thank you Idol, Asteeg!
6 Comments Add yours

  1. A-ha! At fellow comics fan din!!! I’ve been going to the Komikons and Indieket for three years now. Haven’t blogged about the last two yet, though. Busy, busy, busy….

    1. Jordana Mari says:

      It seems that andami nating similarities! Hahaha. I collect comics that I can afford. Ang mahal naman kasi! Hahaha

      1. Ako rin naman. I used to borrow/rent read local comics when I ws a kid. Then local comics began “disappearing.” I have no means to buy the foreign comics some of my classmates had, let alone collect them. It is only now that I’m older that I get to buy affordable but good local comics. Good thing I found out about Komikon πŸ™‚

      2. Jordana Mari says:

        Hahaha. Meaning the older you get, the richer you are! Wow!

      3. I wish that’s true. Yes, you get more, but times also change so even of you get more now, prices of commodities and services also cost more so chances are, you may not even have enough to really live as decent as possible.

      4. Jordana Mari says:

        I agree. The more you have, the more you spend, the more you get poorer than ever!

Leave a Reply

