A letter to the person I love

Dear A,

I know you won’t read this. You are not an “online person”. You are not the type who will spend 8 hours of your day in front of a computer. As for me, I don’t have a choice, it’s part of my job. I won’t even tell you I wrote this. But, I want to write something you already know and let the whole world know about it.

I can’t remember the day I fell in love with you, or the first time I said I love you too. I can’t even remember how we got here. There’s a lot of things that I don’t remember, and most of them are because I refused to do so. But I can’t forget the first time I met you. You smiled at me like you have known me since then. I was the girl who looked at you sternly because, I didn’t really care that much. Sure, you’re cute, but I was not looking for a relationship.

I don’t believe in fairy tales as much as I don’t believe in forever. I don’t believe in anniversaries and I don’t believe that I am made for relationships. There’s a lot of things that I do not believe in, but you proved to me that someone could love me despite my tough exterior. You always tell me that I shouldn’t mind others because they do not know how thoughtful, how sweet, and how kind I am. They just have to look beyond my bitchy face to discover that. For that, I have loved you more.

I must say that hate commitments. I hate that one of these days, you will be taken away from me by your job. I hate long distance relationships, and for me, it will never work. I broke up with someone before because he was away, I promised myself that I am never going to be in a relationship with a person who will leave me and spend most of his time away. However, Summer Finn never believed in true love until she met the person she married. She said that that person made her feel what she wasn’t sure about Tom. I never believed in long distance relationships, but for you, I am going to make an exception. Just like the song, “And when you’re needing your space to do some navigating, I will be here patiently waiting, to see what you’ll find.” I promise that.

I have said time and time again that I don’t believe in forever, but I don’t have to have forever with you, I only needed to have a lifetime. A lifetime of sadness and happiness; a lifetime of struggle and success; a lifetime of hate and love. We are not perfect; we will never be. But remember, I am here, I love you, in the future, I hope we could be.

Love,

D

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. This letter gave me chills…

  2. Jordana Mari says:

    I hope you’re okay, hehe. Thank you for reading my blog, just followed you and I’m hoping to read more of your works.

  3. Sana naman mabasa niya ito kahit di siya online person…

    1. Jordana Mari says:

      Maybe someday, di pa ako ready na malaman nyang napaka-cheesy ko. Hahaha.

      1. Uuuuy, cheesy……!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

