On being (almost) 25

This year, I am turning 25 years old. If I am lucky enough to reach the age of  100 (I think I am. LOL), then this year, I have already spent a quarter of it. I don’t know the demands of reaching that age, but for me this year is going to be a tough year. In fact, the challenges have already piled up even though it’s only March. I will be graduating in a matter of weeks, and if my financial status would permit, I will be reviewing for the bar in the next six months. Therefore, I cannot welcome my 25th birthday with total bliss and freedom. Probably, I will be studying during that time and I cannot or would not even post anything about it. Maybe that’s why it’s just appropriate that I’m making this blog now.

Let’s pretend that I am already 25, so what have I learned?

Well, I learned to grow up strong enough to handle this tough life that was given to me. I know some of my friends and readers (naks, readers) here know how life has been treating me since I started this blog. It has been a topsy-turvy ride but I am going through every challenge just fine. I know I am not a good person to start with, but maybe I’m doing something right that’s why the Almighty has given me all the blessings I have received so far.

For me, to add a year in your life and to grow up means to know yourself better. I am now in a stage where I let negative comments pass by without even thinking about it. I let my mishaps go but I just make sure that I learn from it.

I have no time for things that are temporary and for people who only want me when I please them but would ditch me the moment I show off some of my skin.

I have become impatient to bullshit and I am now capable of letting go of things or people who are not helping me grow.

I have become weary of explaining myself that I let people judge me without correcting them. Maybe, for others, that’s cowardice because I do not have the strength to prove people wrong upfront, but for me that’s courage. Why? Because I am strong enough to ignore people who don’t even know a single shit about me. I know people won’t appreciate me now, but someday when all the immaturity fades, they will realize that I was right or that I did what I could to survive.

If you let every comment ruin your day, your week, your month, your year, or your life, then what’s the point of living? You live for yourself and for the people you love. You live to serve. You live to answer the question: “For whom?” And it is not for the people who only need you when it is convenient for them.

I will become more focused on my goal to aid those who are in need. I have come to exactly know what I want that I have been working hard to reach it.

I am happy with where I am and who I have now. Being 25 may mean a lot of things, but for me it simply means I am living.

IMG_4635
When I find my peace of mind, I’m gonna give you some of my good time
